Unit 5 - Alberta's Land-use Framework

Lesson 2: Alberta's Land-use Regions

The Creation of Regions Under the Land-use Framework

Seven regions have been created under the Land-use Framework. These regions are based on Alberta's major watersheds (example, Alberta's seven major river basins) with boundaries aligned so as to fit existing municipal boundaries as well as natural regions. 

If there are cross-boundary issues between regions, the need to link these issues will be identified to assure compatible treatment of the issue by the regions. For example, the Red Deer Region is a distinct region for land-use purposes, but watershed management policy for the region will be aligned and set within the greater South Saskatchewan River basin (the Red Deer river flows into the South Saskatchewan river near the Alberta-Saskatchewan border)

Implementation of Alberta's Seven Regional Plans

Keep in mind that Alberta's Land-use Framework is a relatively recent initiative. To date, only two regional plans have been implemented, namely the Lower Athabasca Regional Plan. It received Alberta Government approval on August 22, 2012. 

Thee other regional plan, namely the South Saskatchewan Regional Plan was approved in 2014, amended in 2017 and 2018.

As of 2020, the North Saskatchewan Regional Plan is in Phase 2; the other four regional plans have not yet started.


Courtesy of Land Use Planning Hub